First Name:

Last Name:

Email Address:

Security code:

david castle.net

Castle In The Sky

Castle In The Sky

"Castle In The Sky" was david castle's debut album for Parachute Records and was the first record ever released on Parachute Records (released in August of 1977). The album featured some of the world's finest musicians performing with david on the L.P. including James Gadson on Drums (who has played for Steely Dan and a multitude of other superstars), Rick Schlosser on Drums, Chuck Rainey on Bass (also played for Steely Dan and many others), Abraham Laboriel on Bass, Lee Ritenour on Guitar, Trevor Veitch on Guitar, Jay Graydon on guitar, Tom Scott on Sax, Jim Horn on Sax, Jimmy Haskell arranged Horns and Strings, and Andrew Belling arranged strings and basic tracks and conducted the London Royal Philharmonic at Abbey Road Studios in London where the strings were recorded. Backing vocalists featured The Blossoms: Jean King, Fanita James & Cynthia Woodard. Other background vocalists included the very talented Becky Lopez, Petsye Powell, Pattie Brooks, Sherlie Matthews, Tom Bahler and Andy Belling.

The album was released on Pye Records Ltd. in Europe.

"Castle In The Sky" yielded three singles, the first of which was castle's classic hit story ballad, "Ten To Eight," which was first recorded by Helen Reddy on her "No Way To Treat A Lady" L.P. david castle's version of "Ten To Eight" received airplay immediately out of the box and charted very soon thereafter on Billboard's Hot 100. It also charted in Great Britain, France, Holland and Germany. david castle was booked to perform "Ten To Eight" on BBC's "Top Of The Pops" due to the record's reception in Europe. "Ten To Eight" is still played in Europe today.

The second single release from the "Castle In The Sky" L.P. was "The Loneliest Man On The Moon" which was co-written with castle's long-time friend and then fellow staff songwriter for United Artists, Graham Dee. "Loneliest Man On The Moon" also charted on Billboard's Hot 100.

The third single release from the "Castle In The Sky" L.P. was "All I Ever Wanna Be Is Yours," also co-written by Graham Dee. This single charted on Billboard's "Easy Listening" charts.

Titles included on "Castle In The Sky" are the following:

  1. Loneliest Man On The Moon
  2. You're Too Far Away
  3. Make Believe (You're Near Me)
  4. Lady On The Other Side Of Town
  5. Ten To Eight
  6. With Love & With Care
  7. All I Ever Wanna Be Is Yours
  8. Pretending
  9. Finally

"Castle In The Sky" is currently out of print, but you can usually find it at "rare" record outlets. If you are interested in purchasing the album, check for availability at eBay.